Growth and understanding

The last couple of days has been a very eye opening experience for me. I attended a lecture on education and doing what it takes to make sure that are youth are supported in the quest for a better understanding of life. The lecture was based on the writings of Dr. Howard Thurman. Thurman was one of the most influential pastors of his time and ours. Being at this lecture gave me a since of belonging. But it also helped me to see that the vision I had for my ministry was to narrow in its scope. I also came to the understanding that I needed to educate myself further. In order to really be able to reach those that God has placed on my path to give sight and healing too. Through his word. Love and understanding. There’s nothing like the pursuit of God though his son Jesus Christ. But coming to the understanding that we as Christian are no longer stepping out to do the work of God. By providing an education that is effective and efficient for ourselves and the children’s of my fellow man. We rely too much on a system that had no love for the work of furthering the education of our children. The children that will someday be the back bone of our country. Where is the leadership that the church is meant to provide. Where are the children that should be in the churches not in the streets. Where are the men and women of God? Where is the passion? I’ll say this. This book by Dr Howard Thurman is a powerful peace of reading. I’m starting of with ( Jesus and the disinherited ) and all I can say is WOW!! I have never read something so moving when it comes to the understanding of spirituality and the use there of, for the improvement of lives based on the word of God. I would have loved to have had the chance to see and hear him in person. But since I can’t. I’ll read what he left to add a better foundation to my efforts to help Gods people and myself. 😇

One thought on “Growth and understanding

Leave a comment